The B

So, if you know me, you know that my father and I have been restoring cars for a few years now. He owns a 1964 Plymouth Valiant that he restored that belonged to my grandfather, he restored a 1955 Chevy Bel-Air for my Uncle as a 60th birthday present, and we just finished our newest project, and now my car, a 1970 MGB GT (Split bumper). Most people don’t know what that is. It’s a British car, made by British manufacturer MG (No longer around). My father bought the car from a lady in our neighborhood who had driven it daily since she drove it off the lot in 1970. I spent the summer of 2011 taking the car apart/stripping it of paint/removing the engine/etc. Essentially, the car was nothing but a shell on wheels by the time I got done with it.

Two years and three months later, the car is finished, running, and sitting in my garage. I could not be more proud of it. Is it worth a lot? No. Is it a highly sought after car? Not even a little bit. Is it my piece of heaven and a legacy from my father? Absolutely. And it runs beautifully. The light weight of the car makes you believe there’s more than a handful of horsepower [98, to be exact] in that little 4-Cylinder carbed engine.

A little bit of history– MG is a British car manufacturer who essentially started out by hiring farmhands to build their cars [Hence the awful wiring systems.] The B GT, the hatchback that I own, was actually designed and developed by a designer from Ferrari, that’s freaking cool. Mine is also a split-bumper, adding to the rarity of it. It’s also been painted Blue Royale, an original MG paint color that was featured only in my car’s year– 1970. The car handles like a dream, as it was made originally to handle the small, tight, windy roads of England. What I’m trying to say is that you feel like James Bond when you drive it.

Granted, James Bond never would have driven one of these in original condition [Aka with Lucas Wiring, which we got rid of entirely,] because when you are trying to escape from the world’s super-villains, you can’t have your headlights go out at the same time as your brake lights, back up lights, and head lights. And that’s only if you get the car started in the first place. We managed to solve all of these problems [You’re welcome, James,] and the car fires up like a brand new car. Again– It. Is. Perfect.

The restoration was a full, off the chassis rotisserie restoration. I will post pictures later in the Cars//Minicars section.

If you would like to see who did most [Read: All] of the work on the car and his work [That is truly art,] check out http://www.wormansclassiccars.com.

Both my father’s and my cars are on there. Neither of ours are real muscle cars, he mostly does muscle cars. So enjoy!

Check back for pictures and future posts!

Leave a Reply

