Halloween as a Philosophy

If you’ve ever spent more than 10 minutes with me, you probably know that Halloween is my favorite holiday. It’s the coolest day out of the year, I’ve always been nuts for Halloween. I grew up in a neighborhood where the roads would be closed down for the evening. Literally close to a thousand people in the streets, music, costumes, candy, laughing, singing, scaring; these were all elements to my every Halloween as a child. Houses even got dressed up for the occasion, as kids, it was almost as if our neighborhood turned into a little Halloweentown of its own, if not just for a night. Most of my Halloween memories come from wandering around my neighborhood in costume with my best friend David and my sister Emily. They’re some of my fondest from my childhood.

Memories like this have created a real soft spot for Halloween in my heart. It’s important to me. I imagine I’ll always celebrate the day.

But last night, out with my friends in a college town, I realize that Halloween is so much more than just a holiday. I’ll except the history of the holiday because it has nothing to do with the point of this post (Though it is interesting, so I highly recommend checking it out when you get the chance).

Last night I began to view Halloween as a philosophy, not just a day of the year, a holiday.

Halloween is the one day out of the year that allows people dress up in all sort of weird fashion. Police officers, cartoon characters, hippies, animals, celebrities– rest assured, if it exists, you can find it on Halloween. Take a moment and imagine having to pick a Halloween costume and wearing it on a random day of the year. Sure, you’d be able to find the type of person that wouldn’t care at all, but if I had to dress up as Abraham Lincoln on the 15th of March I’d feel really out of place– I would be outside of my comfort zone.

Sure, it would get some laughs, but mostly I would just get weird looks. Not that those looks would really effect me, I’m sure I’d find a way to make it my own, believe you me, I would own it- there’s no need to worry about that.

But the fact remains that I would still feel out of place, out of my comfort zone.

Think about having to wear a random Halloween costume on a random day of the year, excluding Halloween, and freakin’ own it. Now imagine that costume as a metaphor. Again I encourage you, reader, to find a way to get out of your comfort zone. “The Comfort Zone” and how to escape it has been, is, and always will be a big part of my philosophy on how to approach life. It’s how I’ve learned to trust God, it’s how I’ve learned a language, it’s how I’ve met some of my best friends; it’s also how I’ve had fair share of injuries when it comes to trying new things on a skateboard. The risk is part of it, it is inherent, and I’ve learned to love that risk, embrace it, make it my own. 

By getting out of my comfort zone, I’ve learned to own my fear through trusting in God.

Go find your halloween costume for the day and own it. 

Good luck.

Cheers.

Leave a Reply

